16th Scandinavian Workshop on E-Government (SWEG)

Norway landscape

SWEG is a forum for discussing current eGovernment research issues. The workshop is dedicated to open and creative discussions about the current status of eGovernment research and future directions. The focus is thus on informal discussion rather than on formal conference presentations.


The 16th Scandinavian Workshop on E-Government (SWEG) will be held 30-31 January 2019 at the University of South-Eastern Norway (USN), campus Vestfold.

For SWEG 2019, we have (as always) a general theme of eGovernment and eParticipation research, welcoming contributions focusing on a wide area of topics. The focus areas of invited submissions thus include, but are not limited to:

  *   eGovernment and privacy issues in relation to GDPR
  *   Welfare technologies in the public sector
  *   Automation of processes in public administration
  *   Values; co-creation of value, public values, value hierarchies
  *   E-Archives, recordkeeping and archival management
  *   Sustainability in eGovernment
  *   Big data in eGovernment
  *   Smart cities
  *   Social media and eGovernment services
  *   Open data and open innovation in eGovernment
  *   Open-source and open standards solutions in eGovernment
  *   Users and citizens in design, management, and implementation of eGovernment
  *   Transparency and openness in eGovernment services
  *   Digital transformation vs digitization
  *   EGovernment evaluation (risk evaluation, decisions support systems and benefit evaluation)
  *   Methodological reflections
  *   Theoretical reflections (such as the relationship of eGovernment with the wider IS research area and other reference disciplines such as political science, sociology, and media and communication)

We welcome contributions from a range of disciplines, such as public administration, political science, information systems, knowledge management, service management, economics, sociology, and law. Research may range from empirical studies to pure conceptual work. Each submission will be anonymously peer-reviewed by two reviewers recruited among the researchers that submit papers to the workshop. By submitting a paper to SWEG, you agree to review up to two papers.

The workshop is intended as a venue for discussion and feedback, so we invite full research papers, work-in-progress, as well as shorter position papers. Each paper will be allocated time for a short presentation; however discussion should be the main focus of the allotted time for each paper.

Position papers should be maximum 1500 words (approx. 4 pages), and should clearly and distinctly address one or more issues pertinent to e-government research including research methods and quality as well as focus of studies. Full papers should be max 7000 words, while research in progress should be max 3000 words. Irrespective of the form, all submissions should be designed to support in-depth discussions of one of these issues during the workshop. It might be a good idea to present some questions/issues for discussion if you have specific areas of the paper you want to discuss.

Contributions with a focus on Scandinavian countries are welcome, but the forum is not limited to the Scandinavian research community and aims at including a wide variety of perspectives on e-government research. As in previous SWEG, instead of publishing proceedings formally, we will use this workshop to prepare papers for publication in established outlets. Consequently, material presented at SWEG will not be copyright protected and can be submitted to other conferences or journals without further questions.
Important dates

  *   Submissions due: November 25, 2018
  *   Notification of acceptance: December 14, 2017
  *   Registration due: January 11, 2019
  *   Workshop: 30-31 January 2019

Submit your paper in PDF format to: sweg19usn@gmail.com.

Visit the SWEG 2019 website https://www.usn.no/activities/scandinavian-workshop-on-egovernment-article217450-26791.html

Local organizers
The 2019 workshop is organized by:
Marius Rohde Johannessen
Lasse Berntzen

Workshop standing committee
Karin Axelsson, Linköping University
Arild Jansen, University of Oslo
Katarina L Gidlund, Mid Sweden University
Rony Medaglia, Copenhagen Business School
Samuli Pekkola, Tampere University of Technology